Unleashing Creativity During Quarantine

Painted canvas

If you are cooped up at home, you likely have found yourself restless throughout your days of social isolation. Even for those of us who have jobs or daily commitments, there is inevitably more time in our days right now, as many of us can no longer hit the gym after work, enjoy happy hour with our friends, or enjoy a night out at the movies. I have compiled a list of ways to get your creative juices flowing during a time where creative projects are a must. 

Painting

Painting is something to which I have always been somewhat averse, as it always seemed very tedious with how thick the paint comes out and the difficulty of mixing the right color. However, once I let go of this grudge, I found that painting is truly liberating. Once I realized there was no pressure since it was just for me, I embraced that I have the power to paint whatever I desire.

Writing

I have found that when I am stressed or worried, writing helps me gather my thoughts, soothe my mind, and understand more about why I’m feeling certain ways. If you have an active brain and it feels like too many thoughts are moving through your head, I highly recommend taking up writing or keeping a journal.

Meditation

We often underestimate the power of thinking- our days can be extremely fast paced and hectic, and it is rare that we have ample time to sit with ourselves and check in. In addition, we tend to have some of our most creative thoughts when we allow ourself time without distractions (phone, friends, TV), so you might even find that giving yourself time to think leads you to uncover newfound creative projects. 

Yoga

Through yoga, I have learned about the power of meditation and that mindful thinking is a wonderful way to check in with your body and give yourself time to unwind. In addition, it is a wonderful tool to use to learn about your strengths and weaknesses and then uncover new potential. 

Music

Creating playlists is a great way to relax while discovering new music. Again, it is not often that we have this much free time; take advantage of it and finally listen to all of those artists for which you would never typically have the time. 

Featured Image by Steve Johnson on Pixel

Free to Use, No Attribution Required

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started